Finding Me and The Woman King

Warrior Woman Viola Davis is on The Real Hero’s Journey

WriterKat
4 min readSep 16, 2022

--

The Woman King

“Anything you ever dreamed of is on the other side of fear.” ~ Viola Davis

I check the Amazon and New York Times Best Sellers list almost every day. I kept seeing Finding Me: A Memoir by Viola Davis. I added it to my long list of books to read.

Finding Me: A Memoir by Viola Davis

Then I heard about The Woman King starring Viola Davis.

My first thought when I watched the trailer was what great shape Viola Davis is in. I wondered how much training went into making the intense action scenes. Viola said she and the warrior cast trained five hours a day in martial arts, boxing, weights, weapons, and sprinting. Talk about dedication to your art and craft. Impressive. Inspiring!

As a writer and lover of the arts, I am always curious about backstory — how artists got to where they are and the transformation they go through to become who they need to be in the movie. The real hero’s journey.

Viola refers to The Woman King as her magnum opus.

“When I say that this is my magnum…

--

--

WriterKat

Writer focused on holistic health, poetry, personal development, spirituality, technology, books, movies, and music.