The Best Podcasts and Books for Teenage Weight Loss and Fitness

Plus a Few for Seniors

WriterKat
5 min readMay 22, 2024

--

Photo by Victor Freitas on Unsplash

My 15-year-old grandson asked me what books and podcasts I recommend for him to lose weight. He’s not overweight. He just needs to eat healthier foods and exercise consistently to get in shape. But, the fact that he is thinking about getting in shape and wants to do something about it makes me proud of him, and happy to help however I can.

I study health and wellness every day, but I’ve struggled with consistency over the years which has left me with a boatload of metabolic health issues. I don’t drink, smoke, or do drugs. None of that seems to matter when you’re sedentary or eat processed foods. It’s just as dangerous as all three of those deadly vices.

My first thought was to share with him all the podcasts I listen to which would probably overwhelm him. Ed Mylett, Found My Fitness with Dr. Ronda Patrick, Huberman Lab with Andrew Huberman, Nutrition Facts with Dr. Michael Greger, Rich Roll, School of Greatness, The Doctor’s Farmacy with Dr. Mark Hyman, and The Proof with Simon Hill, are just a few of my favorites.

I believe fitness is about more than a number on a scale. It is tending to your mind, body, and spirit. I like podcasts that address all three areas. Ed Mylett and Lewis Howes do a great job talking about a…

--

--

WriterKat

Writer focused on holistic health, poetry, personal development, spirituality, technology, books, movies, and music.